Are Fruit Loops Halal?

Bowl of Fruit Loops
Photo Courtesy: Andy Melton

Fruit loops, also spelled as Froot Loops, are a popular cereal choice in North America and enjoyed by many. This has the muslim community asking whether it is halal or not.

Having noticed that, we went to work and contacted Kellogg’s, the brand that manufactures Fruit Loops cereals, to find out from the source whether their Fruit Loops Cereals are halal or not.

After contacting Kellogg’s and personally vetting the ingredients list, we could not find any ingredient that is not halal in Fruit Loops cereal.

We Contact Kellogg’s To Find out If Fruit Loops Are Halal

We reached out to Kellogg’s so you don’t have to. Here’s what we asked them:


Hope your day is going well.

I was wondering if Fruit Loops cereal are halal? If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin from pork) or any alcohol?


Halal Guidance Team

They responded to us by saying:


Thank you for contacting us about if this cereal is Halal.

We are aware of the growing interest in products certified as halal and we will continue to evaluate halal certification.
◾At this time we do not offer halal-certified products in the (United States / Canada) due to procurement of our ingredients and the manufacturing of our products.
◾We appreciate you reaching out to us to share your interest.

Thanks again, Amr, for taking the time to reach out to us. We appreciate your interest in Kellogg’s® Froot Loops® cereal and hope you have a great day. 

All the best

Kellogg Consumer Affairs Representative

Their response was rather vague since we did not get a definitive answer. Froot Loops not being halal certified does not mean that it is not halal. Gaining a halal a certification just means that the company paid IFANCA or any other halal certifying organization to put a halal logo on their products.

We therefore decided to have a look at their most popular flavor and check to see if there are any suspicious ingredients.

Fruit Loops Ingredients – Is It Halal?

We got the ingredients list of the KELLOGG’S® FROOT LOOPS® CEREAL from their site (source):

  • Corn flour blend (whole grain yellow corn flour, degerminated yellow corn flour)
  • sugar
  • wheat flour
  • whole grain oat flour
  • modified food starch
  • contains 2% or less of vegetable oil (hydrogenated coconut, soybean and/or cottonseed)
  • oat fiber
  • maltodextrin
  • salt
  • soluble corn fiber
  • Natural flavor, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1, yellow 6, BHT for freshness.Vitamins and Minerals: Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
  • vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride)
  • folic acid
  • vitamin D3
  • vitamin B12

While we’re not Food experts nor are we food scientists, but we were unable to point out any animal product (Gelatin) or alcohol products in Froot Loops.

One thing that may be a gray area is “Natural Flavor Red 40”, according to healthline, color additives come from natural sources, such as fruits, vegetables, herbs, minerals, and insects (source).

Froot Loops Alternative

While we could not find any ingredients in Fruit Loops that categorizes it as non-halal or haram, some might want still not feel comfortable eating it because it does not have the halal logo printed on the packaging. If that’s you, you may want to check out Nestle’s Milo cereal.

Check out Nestle Milo Cereal on Amazon (link to Amazon).


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts