Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Haribo Gummy Bears Hanging in store
Source: 22n

The Gelatin source is the main area of concern to making Haribo Gummy bears halal or not.

Haribo Gummy Bears bought in the US are only considered halal if the packaging states that it is made in Turkey. If the Haribo Gummy Bear packaging states that it is made from Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil, France it is not halal.

Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil, France use pork-derived gelatin.

Table of Contents:

1. Haribo’s Official Response on Whether Haribo Gummy Bears Are Halal
2. Halal Gummy Bear Options (Made in Turkey)
3. Beef Gelatin Considerations
4. What Are The Ingredients in the Haribo Halal Gummy Bears

We Contacted Haribo To Find Out If Their Gummy Bears Are Halal

We took the time to contact Haribo’s team to find out what their response was in regards to their gummy bears being halal or not.

Here’s what we asked them.


Hope Your day is going well.

I wanted to know if haribo gummy bears sold in the US and Canada is halal? if not, what is the ingredient used that does not qualify it to be halal?

Thank you, much appreciated!!

Halal Guidance Team

To give them credit, they did respond quickly and here’s their official response:

Thank you for reaching out to HARIBO and for your question.
HARIBO of America products that are made in Turkey are made with beef gelatin (Halal). However, HARIBO of America products do not carry the HALAL logo
Kindest Regards, 

HARIBO of America Consumer Care Team

Shortly after their response, they responded again with a more detailed response. Here’s what they had to say:


Many thanks for your message.

We are delighted to read of your interest in our products. Our production facility in Turkey uses only beef-derived gelatin; however, our manufacturing facilities in: Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil, France use pork-derived gelatin. 

Additionally, our production facility in Austria also produces special halal products which are labeled as such and for which only beef-derived gelatin is used. 

To determine the gelatin source, please look on the bottom half of the backside of the HARIBO package for the country of manufacture. 

We hope that we have been able to help you with this explanation. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time. Best regards,


To summarize, If you’re eating Haribo Gummy Bears check for the following:

  • Is it Halal certified?
  • If it’s not halal certified, check the Gelatin source by looking at the bottom half of the backside of the HARIBO USA package. The packaging will say “Made in Turkey” or “Product of Turkey,” or it will have a HALAL certified sticker.
  • If the Gelatin source is from pork, it is 100% not halal. If derived from beef, then it can be classified as halal.

If youre looking to add different gummies to your grocery list, then check out the list of halal gummies that we’ve compiled to explore more halal-friendly options!

Haribo Gummy Bears Options To Buy (Made in Turkey)

We found Haribo Gummy Bears that can be purchased through Amazon that are Made in Turkey. They do not have a halal logo because Turkey is a muslim country and the assumption is that products made there are halal.

1- Haribo Goldbears Original Flavor Tub

Check Out the Haribo Goldbears on Amazon (link to Amazon)

2- Haribo Gummi Candy, Goldbears Gummi Candy, 5 Pound Bag

Check Out the Haribo StarMix on Amazon (link to Amazon)

Beef Gelatin Considerations

While beef is permissible to eat by Islamic laws, the slaughtering of the animal is what classifies it as halal or not. At this time, unless the packaging states that is is made in Turkey, it may not be halal.

This is because we do not know if the beef, used to derive the Gelatin from, was slaughtered in accordance to islamic law.

With that said, if the Haribo Gummy Bears were made in Turkey, the Beef Gelatin is assumed to be Halal as since it is produced in a muslim country.

What Are The Ingredients in the Haribo Halal Gummy Bears

To sleep better at night, we wanted to list out the full list of ingredients in Haribo Gummy bears to keep you informed and help you make a better decision as to whether you’d classify it as halal or not.

Haribo Gummy Bears GoldBears Ingredients (source):

  • Sugars (sugar, glucose syrup, dextrose)
  • gelatin
  • fruit juices from concentrate (apple juice from concentrate, raspberry juice from concentrate, strawberry juice from concentrate, orange juice from concentrate, lemon juice from concentrate, pineapple juice from concentrate)
  • citric acid
  • water
  • fruit and plant concentrates (carrot concentrate, apple concentrate, radish concentrate, spirulina concentrate, paprika concentrate, hibiscus concentrate, blackcurrant concentrate, tomato concentrate)
  • artificial flavours
  • beeswax
  • carnauba wax
  • May contain traces of milkwheat.

From the list above (excluding Gelatin), we could not find any questionable ingredient to classify Haribo Gummy Bears as Haram.

Halal Candy Alternatives to Haribo Gummy Bears If You Still Find Skittles Not Halal Enough

Everyone has a different tolerance to what they consider halal or not. That’s why people have different halal haram ratios (Just kidding). To try and tailor our content to all our readers, we’ve included some other halal alternatives:

Final Thoughts

Watch out for the packaging before buying Haribo Gummy Bears. If the package you’re looking at is made from the following countries, they are made from pork Gelatin:

  • Germany
  • UK
  • Austria
  • Spain
  • Brazil
  • France

However, if the packaging says “Made in Turkey”, then the Gelatin used is derived from Beef. Since Turkey is a predominately muslim country, it is safe to assume that they don’t need to put a halal logo on every product since it is assumed that the slaughtering of the animal was done in accordance to Islamic law.


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts