Are Hershey Kisses Halal?


Photo Courtesy: Peter Miller

Hershey’s Kisses are popular bite sized chocolates enjoyed by many. If you live in North America, it’s not far fetched to find a couple of Hershey Kisses in you halloween candy bag growing up. They’re also commonly added in cookies!

They are very popular here and we really wanted to know if they’re halal or not… as if the Halal Guidance team does not eat enough chocolate as it is!

We contacted Hershey’s Kisses to get a confirmation and they responded saying that Hershey’s Kisses are halal and halal certified.

We Contacted Hershey’s To Find Out If Hershey’s Kisses Are Halal Or Not

We contacted Hershey’s to get their official response on whether Hershey’s Kisses are halal. Here’s what we asked them:

Hello,

Hope your day is going well.

I was wondering if Hershey’s Kisses are halal? If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin from pork) or any alcohol?

Thanks

Halal Guidance Team

They responded back by saying:

Hello,

Thank you for contacting The Hershey Company.

Per your question, our HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolate Candy is currently Halal-certified. Additionally, these products are made under our strict manufacturing and quality protocols that prevent contamination.

Further, meeting Halal standards is important to us and we work closely with IFANCA (Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America) and Jakim (the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia which is responsible for Halal certification in Malaysia) to meet all Halal certification standards for our milk chocolate products.

Thanks again for taking the time to write. If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact us again, as we’d be more than happy to assist you.

Hershey’s Customer Representative

We definitely were glad to hear that they’re not only halal, but halal certified!

Where to Buy Hershey’s Kisses

If you’re excited as we are about Hershey’s Kisses being halal, check them out on Amazon (link to Amazon).

Curious about other snacks? learn more about whether Skittles are halal or not!

Recent Posts