Are Jelly Belly & Bean Boozled Candy Halal?

Bean Boozled Jelly Beans
Photo Courtesy: Mike Mozart

Bean Boozled jelly beans come in a box which has multiple flavors of Jelly Beans. Some taste good while some taste bad. It’s meant to be eaten as sort of a fun challenge.

The concept of Bean Boozled Jelly Beans is that you don’t know what flavor you will get. Now that we know what it is, we investigated whether it is halal or not.

After contacting Jelly Belly (the owner of Bean Boozled) and doing our own research, we found that there is no alcohol and no gelatin used to make Bean Boozled Jelly Beans. This also include their other Jelly Belly flavors. We have no evidence to suggest that Bean Boozled Jelly Beans are not halal (haram).

Check out Bean Boozles Jelly Beans on Amazon (link to Amazon)

We’ve compiled a list of halal gummies that you can check out if you’re looking for alternative halal gummies to buy!

We Contacted Jelly Belly (Producer of Bean Boozled) To Find Out If They Are Halal

We contacted the company to find out what their response was to the question. Here’s what we asked them:


Hope you are doing well.

I was wondering if Bean Boozled are halal?

If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin from pork) or any alcohol?

Thank you, much appreciated!

Halal Guidance Team

They responded to us and said:


Thank you for your inquiry. Our products do not contain alcohol, however they are not certified Halal.

Jelly Beans International Sales Representative

We took our research a step deeper by looking up their ingredients to see if anything looked questionable.

Are Jelly Belly Candy Ingredients Halal?

We could not find the list of ingredients of Bean Boozled jelly beans, however we did come across their brand fact sheet which provided us with a general sense of the list of ingredients used to make their candy.

Here’s what we found (source):

  • Natural flavors used for flavoring whenever possible, i.e., fruit purees, coconut flakes, coffee, juice concentrates.
  • Other primary ingredients are sugar
  • corn syrup
  • modified cornstarch and confectioner’s glaze. 
  • OU Kosher
  • Dairy free, peanut free and gluten free.
  • Does not contain gelatin.   

Looking at the ingredients list at first glance, we could not find any ingredients that made Jelly Beans suspicious. However we are aware that these ingredients are generally used.

Tip: Always look at the ingredient list of the Bean Boozled packages you’re about to eat to check for questionable ingredients.

Do Any Bean Jelly Belly & Boozled Flavours Contain Gelatin?

Since the ingredients above stated that they did not contain any gelatin, we wanted to check what Gelatin source they use in specfic flavors.

We came across their FAQ page that states (source):

  1. Jelly Beans (including Bean Boozled) do not contain Gelatin
  2. If Jelly Beans are vegetarian friendly
  3. Jelly Beans are not vegan friendly (some flavors may contain beeswax and confectioners glaze

Curious about other snacks? learn more about whether Skittles are halal or not!


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts