Are Lucky Charms Halal?

Lucky Charms cereal
Photo Courtesy: Mike Mozart

Lucky Charms cereals are known to people in the US and all over the world. We’ve all seen kids eating their cereal in movies or in the ads. We wanted to know if the muslim community can eat lucky charms.

Cereals such as Fruit Loops can be tricky when trying to find out if they are halal or not because of the ingredients they use. Therefore, we decided to reach out to General Mills to find out what they had to say about the matter.

Lucky Charms cereals are not halal. General Mills, the owner of the Lucky Charms, confirmed that the Gelatin used in their cereal is derived from pork.

Lucky Charms Owner, General Mills, Confirms That Lucky Charms Is Not Halal

We contacted General Mills and they were kind to respond promptly. Here’s what we asked them:


Hope your day is going well.

I just wanted to know if lucky charms cereal is halal? If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin from pork) or any alcohol?


Halal Guidance

They responded by saying:


Thank you for taking the time to contact General Mills.

We’re glad you asked. The gelatin in our marshmallow marbits pieces is made from pork collagen. Collagen as an additive is tasteless and clear, and is used in many types of food. Big G cereals that contain marbits include Lucky Charms, Chocolate Lucky Charms, Count Chocula, Boo Berry and Frankenberry.

Whenever feasible, General Mills complies with manufacturing requirements for kosher certification.

Rabbi Barnett Hasden has certified our yogurt products as K-Dairy. If you would like further information regarding the kosher status of the yogurt, please contact….

Thank you again for contacting us. We appreciate your interest.

General Mills Consumer Relations Representative

Their response was clear and does not really require much explanation. Pork is not permissible to eat in Islam and since the Gelatin used to make Lucky Charms cereal is derived from pork, this makes Lucky Charms not halal.

We did like that they shed light on the other products that contain pork derived Gelatin, in case you missed it, they are:

  1. Lucky Charms
  2. Chocolate Lucky Charms
  3. Count Chocula
  4. Boo Berry
  5. Frankberry

Lucky Charms Alternative

If you’re craving a sugary cereal that is definitely halal, here are some options you may want to consider:

1- Halal Marshmallows Cereal

Check out Nestle Halal Marshmallows Cereal on Amazon (link to Amazon).

2- Nestle Milo Cereal

Check out Nestle Milo Cereal on Amazon (link to Amazon).


Check out Nestle KOKO KRUNCH Cereal on Amazon (link to Amazon).


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts