Are Monster Energy Drinks Halal or Not

Monster Drink
Photo Courtesy: Mike Mozart

Monster drinks are one of the most popular energy drinks, followed by red bull. Given their popularity we thought we’d investigate whether Monster energy drinks are halal or not.

After contacting Monster and conducting our own research, we were not able to identify any ingredient in monster energy drinks that make it haram. However Monster told us that their line is not considered Halal. However, that alone is not enough evidence to classify it as non-halal.

We Contacted Monster Energy To Find Out If Their Drinks Are Halal or Not

We contacted Monster Energy to Find out if their drinks are considered halal or not. Here’s what we asked them:


Hope Your day is going well.

I wanted to know if Monster drinks are halal? If you’re unsure, are there any animal products or alcohol used to make monster drinks? (If so do they contain any animal ingredients derived from pork?) I am mainly concerned with monster drinks sold in North America

Thank you, much appreciated!!

Halal Guidance Team

They replied back to us saying:

Thanks for visiting the Monster Energy website.

No, the Monster Energy product line is not considered Halal.

The Muslim Board states that as of 2003 they do not consider Monster Energy (along with several other Energy drinks – Amp, Rockstar, Red Bull) Halal.

We as a company will continue to work on this and attempt to become Halal.

Monster Energy Customer Service Representative

While their response did technically answer the question, they did not inform us what exactly makes their drinks not halal. Perhaps they thought we asked them whether their drinks are halal certified or not.

So to get to the bottom of things, we decided to look at the ingredients list of a monster drink and see what questionable ingredient their drinks may contain that makes them not halal.

Are Monster Energy Drink Ingredients Not Halal?

We whipped up the ingredients list and here’s what we found (source):

  • Carbonated water, Sucrose, Glucose
  • Citric acid, natural flavors, Taurine
  • Sodium citrate, color added, panax ginseng root extract
  • L-carnitine, L-tartrate, caffeine (Learn more about whether caffeine & coffee or considered haram or not)
  • Sorbic acid, benzoic acid, niacinamide
  • Sodium chloride, Glycine max glucuronolactone, inositol
  • Guarana seed extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride, sucralose
  • Riboflavin, maltodextrin, and cyanocobalamin

The only thing that stood out to us from the ingredient list above was taurine. According to Mayo Clinic, Taurine is extracted from meat, fish, dairy products (source).

Is Taurine in Monster Energy Drinks Halal?

As per our research, Taurine in Monster energy drinks are considered halal as they are synthetically made and not extracted from animals.

When in doubt, we always check with the vegan community to see if they approve of monster drinks and whether they can consume it. If they can, then it definitely does not contain any animal products.

According to Iamgoingvegan (source), Taurine in energy drinks is considered vegan. This is because taurine in energy drinks are synthetically made. They also mentioned that Monster has confirmed that Taurine in their drinks is synthetically made.

They do mention that most of their flavors are vegan friendly (also halal friendly in our case) but not the Java Monster flavor as it contains milk.

Is Monster Energy Drink Alcoholic?

No, Monster Drinks are categorized as energy drinks and not as an alcoholic beverage. They are typically poured into alcoholic drinks to enhance the flavor, which can cause confusion.

Where To Buy Monster Energy Drinks

Here’s a quick link to buy Monster energy drinks in bulk (typically cheaper than buying an individual can).

Check out All flavors of Monster Energy Drink on Amazon (Link to Amazon)


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts