Reese’s Pieces chocolate Cups. If you love them, there’s a high chance that you’re addicted to the chocolate and peanut butter mix. Not only are Reese’s Pieces in every grocery store, they’re in a lot of different desserts.
For all Reese’s Pieces fans who are curious about whether it is halal or not, I did the research so that you don’t have to.
After contacting The Hershey Company (the manufacturer and owner of Reese’s Pieces chocolate) they confirmed to that Reese’s Pieces chocolate cups is halal certified. Furthermore, the ingredient list of Reese’s Pieces contains no animal products other than milk.
To get our answer as to whether Reese’s Pieces chocolate is halal or not, I did 2 things. I reached out to The Hershey Company (from the well known Hershey’s chocolate), owner of the Reese’s Pieces brand.
I also analyzed the ingredients list to check for any questionable ingredient.
I Reached out to The Hershey Company (Owner of Reese’s Pieces) To Find out whether Reese’s Pieces is Halal or Not
I reached out to Hershey’s to find out whether Reese’s Pieces are Halal or not. For full transparency, I included the full correspondence below.
Hello,
Hope your day is going well.
I wanted to know if Reese’s Pieces chocolate is halal? if not, what’s the ingredient used that does not make it halal?
Thank you, much appreciated!
Halal Guidance Team
They responded rather quickly saying:
Hi!
Hershey’s Consumer Representative
Thanks for contacting The Hershey Company.
With regard to your inquiry, REESE’S Peanut Butter Cup Candy is currently Halal-certified.
We appreciate your interest in our products!
While their response was rather short, it was exactly what I was looking for. Given their response, I can comfortably say that Reese’s Pieces chocolate is Halal.
Since I got their response, the second step to confirming whether Reese’s Pieces is halal is to look into its ingredient list to check for any questionable ingredients.
Reese’s Pieces Ingredients – Is it Halal?
Here’s the ingredient list that I found on Here’s site (source):
- Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Milk Fat, Lactose, Lecithin, PGPR)
- Peanuts
- Sugar
- Dextrose (type of sugar sourced from corn or wheat)
- Salt
- TBHQ (tert-butylhydroquinone – a commonly used preservative in processed food)
- Citric Acid
Does Reese’s Pieces Have Gelatin?
No. As per the ingredient list above and on every package, no gelatin is added. Gelatin is used more with candies.
Check out my full list of halal candy and learn more about why these candies are considered halal.
My Thoughts on Eating Reese’s Pieces Chocolate Being Halal & Muslims Eating Reese’s Pieces
Based on the simple ingredient list above, nothing stands out to make Reese’s Pieces questionable. With that said, I can comfortably confirm that Reese’s Pieces chocolate is in fact halal.
Given that it’s halal certified, I personally would eat it with no hesitation. Keeping in mind, that’s my opinion given the research and information above. I do understand that different people have different tolerances.
I have eaten Reese’s pieces before and will continue to do so.
Curious about other snacks? Check out some recently reviewed snacks:
- Is Nutella Chocolate Spread Halal?
- Is TWIX Chocolate Halal or Haram?
- Are Hershey Kisses Halal?
- Are Skittles Halal?
- Are Oreos Halal?
Recent Posts
Photo Courtesy: Jasmine Fine For those who haven't tried Airheads candy, they come in many different forms; taffy, gum, and gummies. They've always been popular and a few years ago, someone asked...
Did you know that it does not require actual corn to make candy corn? The name is deceiving as it does come across as though candy corn is made from corn. It does not even taste like corn. Candy...