Are Sour Patch Kids Halal?

Sour patch kids halal
Photo Courtesy: Nicholas Erwin

Previously known as ‘Mars Men’, Sour Patch Kids is a sour treat enjoyed by many (including adults!). That caught our attention and we decided to investigate it. As per usual, we contacted the company to find out if Sour Patch Kids is halal.

Ingredients used to make Sour Patch Kids are halal by nature. Sour Patch kids is also vegan friendly. Sour Patch Kids are not halal certified though (this means that they did invest in getting a halal certification).

We Got A Response From Mondelēz International (They Own Sour Patch Kids)

We contacted the company that owns the Sour Patch Kids Brand, Mondelēz International, to find out what their response was to the question.

Here’s what we asked them


Hope Your day is going well.

I wanted to know if Sour Patch Kids are halal? if not, what is the ingredient used that does not qualify it to be halal? Is the Gelatin used derived from pork or beef?

I am mainly concerned with Sour Patch Kids sold in Canada and US.

Thank you, much appreciated!!

Halal Guidance Team

They responded by saying:


Thank you for visiting our website.

Halal Certification will depend on the country you live in, our brands are not Halal Certified in the US or Canada, always check the ingredients and the label to guarantee the suitability for your diet.

Our plan is to continue to provide these services as long as there is consumer interest in our products.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you again soon!

Mondelēz International Customer Service Representative

Their response was rather vague. Not having a halal certification does not mean that Sour Patch Kids is not halal. With that said, we decided to look up the ingredients used to make Sour Patch Kids and see if they contain any Gelatin.

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients Contain No Gelatin

Here’s a list of Sour Patch Kids (original) that we sourced from their website (source):

  • Sugar
  • Invertsugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Contains less than 2% of tartaric acid,citric acid,natural and artificial flavor
  • Colorings: Yellow 6,red 40,yellow 5,blue 1.

Given the ingredients above we could not identify any ingredient that looked non-halal. According to vegan first (source), Sour Patch Kids confirmed that they are vegan friendly meaning Sour Patch Kids contains no animal products. They also contain no Alcohol.

To further confirm this, we also came across PETA’s blog post where they included Sour Patch Kids on their list of vegan snacks (learn more about whether a vegan or vegetarian diet is always halal). If you’re unaware of who PETA is, PETA is the largest animal rights organization in the world (source).

If you’re still looking for gelatin-free and halal gummies, we’ve compiled a list of halal gummies that you can add to your snacks list!

Final Thoughts

While we’re not food scientists, when looking at the ingredients, we could not find any trace of Gelatin or alcohol. Sour patch kids is also vegan friendly.

As always, read the ingredients and do your own research before making your decision.


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts