Are TAKIS Chips Halal?

TAKIS chips

TAKIS chips are popular in North America and therefore questions about whether it is halal or not has been gaining popularity. So to make your lives easier, we contacted the manufacturer and got a response.

Ingredients used to make TAKIS Fuego chips are halal by nature. TAKIS chips contain no animal products and are vegetarian-friendly. At this time, we have no proof to classify TAKIS chips as haram.

We did our homework here at Halal Guidance to find out whether TAKIS chips are halal or not. We contacted the Barcel (the owner of the TAKIS chips brand) to find out, we looked as their ingredients, we also checked what other sources had to say about this topic.

We Contacted TAKIS To Find Out If Their Chips Is Halal


Hope your day is going well.

I wanted to know if TAKIS (Fuego) chips are halal?


Halal Guidance Team

They responded by saying:


The TAKIS Fuego is not registered / certified to be vegan or halal but we do not have any animal or pork ingredients in the chips.


TAKIS Customer Representative

Given the correspondence above, the customer service representative did not give us a clear standing on whether it was halal or not (to protect the company legally) which we do get fairly often.

Therefore, we decided to take it a step further and look into the the ingredients to identify any ingredient that looked suspicious.

Ingredients in TAKIS Fuego Chips – Are They Halal?

We looked up the ingredients list on Walmart and here’s what we found (source):

  • Corn flour,
  • Vegetable oil (soybean and/or canola) and palm oil (palm oil and/or fractionated palm oil),
  • Seasoning [corn maltodextrin, sugar, citric acid, potassium chloride, rice flour, salt, monosodium glutamate, natural and artificial flavours (corn maltodextrin, yeast extract, monosodium glutamate, disodium inosinate and guanylate, potato starch, gum arabic), hydrolyzed soybean protein, dehydrated oinion, spice extractives (including red chili pepper), sodium bicarbonate, colours, disodium inosinate and guanylate, sodium acetate, soybean oil, acetic acid, bha and silicon dioxide. contains barley gluten.],
  • Water.

May contain peanuts, milk, egg, wheat, sulphites and mustard

Nothing on the list looked suspicious to us from the list above. Furthermore, Walmart went ahead and even stated the following under the ‘Lifestyle and Dietary Needs’ section:

No fish, No sesame, No shellfish, No lactose, Vegan-friendly, Vegetarian-friendly If a food is vegan friendly, then it is most likely halal. This bumped up our confidence in TAKIS chips being halal.

What Do Other People Have To Say About TAKIS Being Halal

1- Akeel Al Ansarri Also Reached Out To TAKIS

A pin made by Mrs Akeel Alnassari shed more light into the issue as she also reached out to TAKIS asking the same question, here’s her response to the question.

TAKIS Fuego chips are vegetarian and halal. I called the manufacturer and they said that there are not any alcohol or animal derived ingredients in this item.

2- HalalSnackBox Listed TAKIS As A Halal Alternative to Everyday Snacks

HalalSnackBox wrote a cool blog titled, THE TOP 5 (NON-HALAL) SNACKS AND THEIR HALAL ALTERNATIVES, where they listed TAKIS as a Halal Alternative to common snacks (source).

Final Thoughts on TAKIS Being Halal

From our own research and the information we found while writing up this post, we couldn’t find any evidence that TAKIS chips are not halal. Many sources are stating that it is halal and permissible to eat.

With all that said, we still encourage you to do your own homework if you still feel unsure as to whether TAKIS are halal or not.


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts