Is Bacon Halal? (Beef, Turkey, Duck, Chicken)

For most Halal-conscious consumers the question of whether or not Bacon is Halal, is a fairly definitive question!

In this article we will discuss whether or not Bacon is Halal for Muslims and Halal Bacon is made from.

Bacon is considered halal as long as the meat itself is permissible for Muslims to eat (i.e cow/beef). Furthermore, the meat itself has to be slaughtered in accordance to Islamic Shariah. Pork based bacon is Haram.

Turkey Bacon
Photo Credit: Elton Morris

Is Bacon Halal or Haram?

A lot of Muslims think that Bacon is Haram, thinking that bacon is only derived from pigs. The thought process here is that since bacon is associated with pork, then it must be considered Haram.

Pork is definitely considered haram as it is specifically mentioned in the Quran:

He has only forbidden you ˹to eat˺ carrion, blood, swine,1 and what is slaughtered in the name of any other than Allah. 

Ayah 173 from surat Al-Baqara (source)

However, not all bacon is made from pork, and there are many alternatives that is halal, like: Beef, Turkey, Duck and Chicken bacon. Therefore, not all bacon is Haram.

But we also have to consider that bacon can be Halal only if it is taken from animals that are slaughtered and butchered in accordance to Islamic guidelines.

Check out our full guide on How Halal Meat Is Slaughtered and Prepared In 8 Steps to learn more about the process of halal meat slaughter.

What is Halal Bacon Made of?

Halal Bacon is any cut of any halal meat that is slaughtered in accordance to Islam Shariah. It is then salted, seasoned, refrigerated, and left to cure for some time.

The process of making bacon begins with a piece of meat, and for this bacon to be halal, the meat should be taken from an animal that was slaughtered and butchered in accordance to Islamic guidelines. Once the meat is taken, salt is poured over both surfaces of the meat pieces.

Then, the salted meat is placed in a refrigerator and left to cure for some time. And the salt will draw out the moisture and preserve the meat.

The final step is to take the cured meat and suspend it in the air in a smoker.

The smoke from the room will further cure and almost cook the meat and impart a distinctive bacon flavor (source).

There are many types of Halal bacon that you can consume, including Beef, Turkey, Chicken, and Duck bacon.

Is Beef Bacon Halal?

Since Beef is permissible for Muslims to eat, then beef bacon is considered halal to eat.

Beef bacon is only considered halal if it is taken from the meat of an animal that is slaughtered according to Islamic Shariah.

Is Turkey Bacon Halal?

Turkey bacon is a great alternative for halal bacon and is considered the most popular type of halal bacon.

But also you should consider that Turkey has been slaughtered in accordance to Islamic standards.

Remember, turkey meat is considered Halal for Muslims to eat. Learn more about turkey meat being halal here.

Is Chicken Bacon Halal?

Similar to Turkey bacon, Chicken bacon can be assumed as a halal, unless it is not slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rules.

Is Duck Bacon Halal?

 As the past mentioned types of halal bacon, Duck Bacon can also be considered as a type of halal bacon if it comes from a bird that is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rules and sharia.

Is Bacon Flavor Halal?

Bacon Flavor is considered Haram unless it is not taken from pork and is taken from animal meats that are halal.

An example of that would be the bacon bits that are commonly found in Halal hot dog stands.

It is labeled as Bacon bits, but it is actually made from soy. Soy is completely halal for Muslims to eat. Therefore, some of the bacon bits are considered halal even though they are meant to taste like bacon.

On the other hand, there are snacks such as bacon flavored chips that do have pork-based ingredients that you should watch out for if you’re trying to stick to a halal diet. Check out our list of halal chips if you’re looking for halal snacks.

Therefore, always check the ingredients before buying any food that is bacon flavored.


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts