Is Chick Fil A Halal?

Chick-Fil-A Paper Bags
Source: Scuddr

Chick-Fil-A’s main menu is not Halal. While there are side items on their menu that are halal friendly, their sandwiches and chicken are not Halal.

Chick-Fil-A is loved by many. Headquartered in Georgia, their chicken burgers and nuggets have been gaining popularity year by year. It is known for many things, other than their popular menu, they close every Sunday. The reason to do so in the beginning was to give employees the day off for prayer and worship given that it is a christian owned business.

However, the company claims that they close on Sunday because:

Our founder, Truett Cathy, made the decision to close on Sundays in 1946 when he opened his first restaurant in Hapeville…., Truett saw the importance of closing on Sundays so that he and his employees could set aside one day to rest and worship if they choose.

Source: Chick-Fil-A

Given the religious roots of their business practice, many muslims are understandably asking whether their food is Halal or not.

Is Chicken Served at Chick-Fil-A Halal?

The short answer is no. Chick-Fil-A’s chicken is not Halal in the US & Canada.

Email Sent to Chick-Fil-A To Find Out If Their Food Is Halal

Here’s the E-mail we sent to their customer service team:


Hope your day is going well.

I wanted to know if the chicken served at Chick-Fil-A is halal in North America (U.S & Canada)?


Chick-Fil-A responded saying.


Thank you for taking the time to contact Chick-fil-A.

We very much appreciate you sharing your thoughts on halal menu items at Chick-fil-A. We are not able to tailor menu items that reflect all preferences due to our diverse customer base.  Again, we appreciate your thoughts and look forward to continued feedback.

Thank you for your time and interest in Chick-fil-A.

Chick-Fil-A Customer Service Representative
Email sent to Chick-Fil-A to find out if their food is halal or not

Here’s a snippet of a phone call conversation we had with their customer service representative asking them whether their food is halal or not.

Why is Chick-Fil-A not considered Halal?

This is subjective depending on how you interpret the ayah about the food of the People of the Book (Ahlul Kitab) to mean Muslims can eat the meat of halal animals slaughtered by Christians and/or Jews (source).

Some people do not consider the recitation of Allah prior to the slaughtering of the animal from someone who is from People of the Book (Ahlul Kitab) to be halal, while others do (source).

Generally speaking if you’re doubtful as to whether something is halal or not, it is best to avoid it. It’s better than committing a sin unknowingly.

What Food Items on Chick-Fil-A’s Menu is considered Halal?

So you’re out with your friends, starving, and they’re all craving Chick-Fil-A and you don’t feel like being the party pooper and having everyone with you feel frustrated. What do you do?

Here are a few items on their menu that can be seen as halal friendly option (but this depends on your tolerance) :

  • Fruit Cup
  • Side Salad
  • Waffle Potato Chips

Yes we understand that the food items listed above are not really considered to be a meal. But hey, you could eat a thing or two to curb your hunger and have halal meal later on.

Remember that there could be some cross contamination when preparing these foods. We urge you to be mindful of what you order.

Curious about whether other fast food restaurants are halal? Check out these frequently searched for fast food joints:


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts