Is KitKat Haram or Halal?

KitKat logo
Photo Courtesy: Howard Lake

KitKat is enjoyed by many, it’s one of the most popular chocolate brands on the planet. However, do we know if it’s halal or not?

To find out if it’s halal or not, we did the following:

  1. Contacted Hershey’s (which owns KitKat – we were surprised by that too!)
  2. Evaluated the ingredients list on a regular KitKat bar

KitKat chocolate bars sold in North America are halal by nature. This means that the ingredients used to make KitKat are halal. Hershey’s confirmed to us that KitKat is not Halal Certified. However, that does not mean that KitKat is Not Halal.

We Contacted KitKat Owner (Hershey’s) and This Is What They Had To Say About KitKat Being Halal Or Not

We reached out to Hershey’s which owns KitKat, and here’s what they asked them.


Hope your day is going well. I was wondering if KitKat sold in North America is halal? If you’re not sure, are there any animal products used to make KitKat? is the milk used to make the chocolate made from cow milk?


Halal Guidance Team

They responded back to us saying.


Thanks for contacting The Hershey Company regarding our KITKAT Wafer Bar.

In response to your question, this product is not halal certified and the milk is derived from cows.

We, however, appreciate your interest in our product.

Hershey’s Consumer Representative

They confirmed that KitKat bars are not halal certified. However, if a product is not halal certified, that doesn’t necessarily mean that KitKat is not halal. It just means that the company has not yet invested in obtaining a halal certification certificate.

Therefore, we decided to take a deeper look into the ingredients list and see if there are any questionable ingredients.

KitKat Ingredients – Is there any Haram Ingredient?

Here’s the ingredient list of the classic KitKat bar sold in the United States (source):

  • Sugar
  • Wheat Flour
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Chocolate
  • Refined Palm Kernel Oil (Plant oil)
  • Lactose (milk)
  • Milk Fat

It also contains less than 2% or less of soy lecithin, PGPR (emulsifier), yeast, artificial flavor, salt, and sodium bicarbonate.

Based on the ingredients list above, we could not find any ingredient that is considered haram. This confirms that while KitKat chocolate bars are not halal certified, the ingredients are halal by nature.

Are All KitKat Chocolate Flavors Halal?

Photo Courtesy: Jesús Pérez Pacheco

There are tons of KitKat flavours, from KitKat Wine to KitKat banana (source). With that said, we found that most KitKat Flavors are halal, obviously flavors such as KitKat wine would not be halal. Speaking of alcohol, learn more about whether chocolate liquor is haram or not.

For the sakes of our investigation, we focused on the original flavor. However, when we checked the ingredients of KitKat white (white chocolate) and KitKat Green (Green Tea), we found that the ingredients were fairly similar to the original KitKat.

Always check the ingredients list of the KitKat bar before eating it to be on the safe side.

Curious about other snacks? Check out some recently reviewed snacks:


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts