Is Kraft Mac And Cheese Halal


mac and cheese packaging
Photo Courtesy: Mike Mozart

Kraft Mac and Cheese is a quick meal popular among college students and everyday folks who are looking to make a quick dinner. Given its popularity, we had to investigate it and do our research to find out whether it is halal or not.

As per usual, we reached out to Kraft and did our own research to get an answer.

Animal Enzymes used to make Kraft Mac and Cheese are from lamb and beef, there is no pork products in Kraft Mac and Cheese. However, the sources of their animal enzymes are not halal. There are alternatives to Kraft Mac and Cheese that do not contain animal enzymes to make the cheese.

We Contacted Kraft To Find Out If Mac And Cheese Is Halal

If you’ve been on our site before, you know this is our thing. We reached out to Kraft once again to find out if their Mac and Cheese is halal.

Here’s what we asked them:

Hello,

Hope your day is going well.

I was wondering if Kraft Mac and Cheese is halal or not? If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin from pork) or any alcohol?

Thank you, much appreciated

Halal Guidance Team

They responded back by saying:

Hi,

I wanted you get back to you regarding the information you requested about the enzymes we use in KRAFT Mac & Cheese Dinner – 5 PK.

Please know that the process of converting milk into cheese is DEPENDENT on coagulating milk through the use of enzymes. We utilize enzymes, purchased from reputable suppliers, for processing our various lines of cheese.

The enzymes used to make the cheese in our cheese powder in packages of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, Kraft Dinner and Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Grated Topping are derived from both animal sources (calf, kid and lamb) and microbial sources.

However, we are looking into new ways of processing our various lines of cheese products that would eliminate the need for enzymes that are derived from animal sources.

I will share your comments with our Quality and Production staff

Kraft Consumer Relations Director

As per their email, the Gelatin they use are derived from beef and microbes. There is no pork in their Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, Kraft Dinner and Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Grated Topping. Keep in mind that for a food to be halal, the slaughtering of the animals to derive the Gelatin must be halal.

While they don’t use pork derived Gelatin, we can’t confidently say that their ingredients is halal. However, there are no haram ingredients such as pork in their Mac and Cheese

With all that said, we wanted to dig deeper to understand if there are any other suspicious ingredients.

Mac and Cheese Ingredients

Here are the ingredients of their Kraft Original Flavor Macaroni & Cheese Dinner 7.25 oz Box (source):

  • Enriched macaroni (wheat flour, durum flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate [iron], thiamin mononitrate [vitamin b1],
  • Riboflavin [vitamin b2],
  • Folic acid
  • Cheese sauce mix (whey, milkfat, salt, milk protein concentrate, sodium triphosphate, contains less than 2% of tapioca flour, citric acid, lactic acid, sodium phosphate, calcium phosphate, with paprika, turmeric, and annatto added for color, enzymes, cheese culture).

We are not food scientists, but other than the animal ingredients (that we already established are from beef and lamb), we could not identify any other ingredient that made us question whether Kraft Mac and Cheese is halal or not.

Kraft Mac and Cheese Halal Alternative

If you’re not comfortable eating Kraft Mac and Cheese because of the ambiguoity of the animal enzymes used, you may want to check out Annie’s Organic Macaroni and Cheese packs.

They use non-animal enzymes to make their dried cheddar cheese.

Check out Annie’s organic Mac and Cheese on Amazon (link to Amazon)

Curious about Kraft American cheese? Find out if American cheese is halal or not!

Recent Posts