Pepsi is one of the most known drinks on the planet. Every Ramadan gathering has a bottle or two of Pepsi on it. It’s popularity does not mean that it is halal though. Therefore we reached out to PepsiCo to find out if their popular drink, Pepsi, is halal or not.
Pepsi is halal. After contacting PepsiCo and checking their ingredients list, we found no animal products or alcohol in their drinks. There is no evidence to suggest that Pepsi is Haram.
We Reached Out To PepsiCo To Find Out If Pepsi Is Halal or Not
We reached out to PepsiCo, the owner of the Pepsi brand, to find out if their drink is halal or not. Here’s what we asked them.
Hope Your day is going well.
I wanted to know if Pepsi drinks are halal?
If you’re unsure, are there any animal products or alcohol used to make Pepsi drinks? (If so do they contain any animal ingredients derived from pork?)
I am mainly concerned with Pepsi drinks sold in North America
Thank you, much appreciated!!Halal Guidance Team
They responded to us and said:
Thank you for emailing us with your product inquiry.
Please know that there are no animal by-products in our products in our Pepsi products.
I invite you to visit www.PepsiCoBeverageFacts.com, where you will find up-to-date ingredient and nutritional information on all our beverages.
I hope this information was helpful.PepsiCo Consumer Relations
PepsiCo’s response assured us that there are no animal products in their drinks. However, they did not confirm if Pepsi contained any alcohol. So we followed their instructions and checked out the ingredients used to make Pepsi drinks.
Are Pepsi Ingredients Halal?
We checked their site to see their ingredients and to check for any questionable ingredients. Here’s what we found (source):
- Carbonated water
- High fructose corn syrup
- Caramel color
- Phosphoric acid
- Caffeine (Learn more about whether caffeine & coffee or considered haram or not)
- Citric acid
- Natural flavor
Looking at the ingredients, we could not identify any ingredients in Pepsi drinks that are considered haram.
Do Pepsi Drinks Have Pork In It?
No, Pepsi drinks do not contain any pork or animal products. We know this because PepsiCo informed us that there are no animal products in Pepsi drinks. Furthermore, the ingredients list in Pepsi does not mention any animal products.
Does Pepsi Drinks Contain Alcohol?
No. Pepsi drinks do not contain any alcohol. We know this because we contacted PepsiCo and they told us that Pepsi drinks do not contain alcohol. Furthermore, alcohol is not a mentioned as an ingredient in the ingredient list.