Who doesn’t know Popeyes chicken? You can find a popeyes branch in almost every city in North America. However, what we wanted to find out is if it was permissible for Muslims living in Canada & the US to eat chicken from Popeyes.
To do this, we contacted Popeyes so that you don’t have to!
Chicken, gravy, rice, and red beans served in Popeyes in Canada is Halal. Chicken, gravy, rice, and red beans served in Popeyes in the US is Not Halal.
Is Popeyes Halal in the US & Canada – We Contacted Them to Find Out
In order to make sure that we’re providing our readers with the correct information, we wanted to be fully transparent and show our conversation with a Popeyes Customer Service representative.
Here’s what we asked them:
Hope your day is going well.
I wanted to know if the chicken served at Popeyes is halal in North America (U.S & Canada)?
They responded back to us rather quickly and told us the following
Thank you for reaching out to Popeyes Digital Support!
I have added halal information below for U.S. and CA Popeyes:Popeyes Customer Service Representative
– Chicken is not halal certified
– US restaurants’ gravy contains pork
– Gravy and red beans & rice both contain pork-derived ingredients (pork, gelatin, lard, etc)
– All chicken products (Signature Bone-in Chicken & Boneless) served at every Popeyes in Canada are Halal certified.
– Certificates can be reviewed at the Restaurants.
– Canada locations offer many other products in the restaurants that are Halal certified – gravy, marinades, etc.
– All products and ingredients go through a thorough review to ensure there are no pork products, alcohol or other items generally not accepted as being Halal.
– Canola oil is used for frying instead of the beef tallow used in other countries.
Please let me know if you have any other questions
For Muslims in Canada who wish to stick to a halal diet, they can enjoy Popeyes chicken at any location. However, that is not the case for Muslims in the US. Chicken served in Popeyes in the US is not halal certified.
Furthermore the gravy, red beans, and rice served in Popeyes in the US contains pork-derived ingredients (pork, gelatin, lard etc).
If you dont want to read their entire response, here’s a quick summary table:
|Popeyes Food||Popeyes US||Popeyes Canada|
|Gravy||Not Halal (Contains Pork)||Halal|
|Rice & Red Beans||Not Halal||Halal|
Is Popeyes Gravy Halal?
Popeyes gravy served at any Popeyes location in Canada is Halal. However, gravy served at any Popeyes location in the United States is Not Halal. Gravy served at Popeyes at any US location Contains Pork.
Muslims eating Popeyes in Canada can eat gravy as it halal, however it is not halal at Popeyes location in the US.
Is Popeyes Chicken Sandwhich Halal?
As per the response that we received from the Popeyes Customer Support team, Popeyes chicken sandwiches are halal in Canada. However, they are not halal in the US.
Curious about whether other fast food restaurants are halal? Check out these frequently searched for fast food joints: