Is Trolli Candy Halal?


Gummy bears
Source: digipam

Trolli offers gummy candies, marshmallows, and soft licorice gums in over 80 countries and has factories in Germany, Spain, Indonesia, China and the Czech Republic (source).

Candy can be tricky when trying to know whether or not it is halal because of the Gelatin used to make them. Often times it is from pork, but other times it is from beef. Furthermore, living in North America, we also need to know whether the beef gelatin derived to make Trolli candy was from a beef source that was slaughtered in accordance to Sharia and islamic ruling.

After contacting Ferrara Candy company (the owner of Trolli) they confirmed that the Gelatin used to make their candy is derived from pork. This explains why they are not halal certified. At this time, we do not have evidence to suggest that Trolli candy is halal.

We Contacted Ferrara Candy Company (Owner of Trolli) To Find Out If Trolli Is Halal

The first logical step we took to know whether it is halal or not was to contact Ferrara Candy Company and find out if Trolli is halal or not.

Here’s what we asked them:

Hello,

Hope your day is going well.

I just wanted to know if trolli candy is halal? If you’re unsure, does it contain any animal products (i.e Gelatin) or any alcohol?

Thanks

Halal Guidance Team

They responded back to us saying:

Hello,

Thank you for contacting us regarding Trolli® Sour Brite Crawlers®. Your feedback plays an integral role in our ongoing efforts to further improve our products and services.

We are sorry to inform you that this product is not Halal certified.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your comments. 

Ferrara Candy Company Consumer Relations Representative

Trolli candy is not halal certified. This means that the likelihood of their Gelatin being halal is slim because while it can be derived from beef, we would not know if the animal used to get the Gelatin from was slaughtered in accordance to Sharia.

We wanted to know what their ingredients are and if they indicated the Gelatin source on their packaging.

We found the ingredients of one of their classic flavors, Peachie O’s Gummy Rings, Gummy Candy (source):

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Gelatin
  • Modified Food Starch (Potato)
  • Citric Acid
  • Apple Juice From Concentrate
  • Fumaric Acid, Modified Food Starch (Corn)
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5

The source of the Gelatin was not clarified in the ingredients list. Therefore it is difficult to say to that Trolli is halal. It’s definitely in the grey area.

Side note: We compiled a list of halal gummies to help you find halal alternatives that are suitable of halal diet.

We Contacted Ferrara Candy Company (Owner of Trolli) Again To Ask About Gelatin Source

To get a confirmation on the source of the Gelatin used in Trolli candy, we reached out to the company again. Here’s what we asked them:

Hey, 
Is the Gelatin used to make Trolli made from pork or beef?
Thanks

Halal Guidance Team

They responded back saying:

Hello,

Thank you for getting back to us. The gelatin in Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers is derived from pork. On our labels if it states gelatin it means pork gelatin. If it were derived from beef, we would actually put beef gelatin on the label.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your comments.

Ferrara Candy Company Consumer Relations Representative

Curious about other candies? learn more about whether Skittles are halal or not!

Recent Posts