List of Halal Chips

Photo Courtesy: stu_spivack

Getting a quick snack of chips can be daunting when living in the USA or Canada. Especially if you’re trying to stick to a halal diet.

In this article, we want to list out all the halal chips we found after doing extensive research and looking into the ingredients. Furthermore, we will also discuss what to look out for next time you go to buy chips and what ingredients you ought to look out for.

Table of Contents:

1. List of Halal Chips in North America
2. What To Look Out For When Buying Halal Chips
3. Tips To Choosing Halal Chips
4. Frequently Asked Questions

List of Halal Chips in North America

Chips Brand & FlavorStatusWhere to Buy
Honey BBQ Lay’sHalalInstaCart
Doritos Sweet and ChiliHalal
Doritos BBQHalal
Enjoy Life PlentilsHalal
Cape Cod® Original Kettle Cooked Potato ChipsHalalInstaCart
Flamin’ Hot Munchos Potato CrispsHalalInstaCart
Food Should Taste Good Chips, Kettle Cooked Original Sweet PotatoHalal
Fritos OriginalHalal
Garden of Eatin’ Corn Tortilla Chips, Sesame BluesHalal
Good Health Kettle Style Olive Oil Potato Chips (Rosemary)Halal
Good Health Kettle Style Olive Oil Potato Chips (Sea Salt)Halal
Herr’s Ketchup Flavored Potato ChipsHalal
kettle brand backyard barbeque potato chipsHalal
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Potato Chips, Salt and Fresh Ground PepperHalal
Kettle Brand Potato Chips, JalapeñoHalal
Kettle Brand Potato Chips, Sea Salt & VinegarHalal
Lay’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips, OriginalHalal
Lay’s Baked Potato Chips, OriginalHalal
LAY’S® BBQ Flavored Potato ChipsHalal
Lays ketchupHalal
Lays OriginalHalal
Popchips barbequeHalal
Popchips Sea Salt & VinegarHalal
Popchips Sweet PotatoHalalInstaCart
Pringles OriginalHalal
Pringles Salt & VinegarHalal
Pringles® honey mustard crispsHalal
Rold Gold PretzelsHalal
Ruffles All DressedHalal
Ruffles OriginalHalal
Sabritones Chile & Lime Flavored Puffed Wheat SnacksHalalInstaCart
Simply 7 Quinoa ChipsHalal
Sunchips Chili limeHalal
Sunchips OriginalHalal
tangy buffalo wing pringlesHalalInstaCart
Tapatío Limón RufflesHalalInstaCart
TERRA (exotic potato)Halal
TERRA (Original)Halal
TERRA Exotic Harvest (sea salt)Halal
TERRA Heritage Blend (sea salt)Halal
7-eleven select go! smart sriracha corn tortilla chipsHalalInstaCart
7-eleven select wasabi soy flavored potato chipsHalalInstaCart

What To Look Out For When Buying Halal Chips

The list on the back of the packaging is usually super long with ingredients we can’t even pronounce. However, after corresponding with many companies and asking them whether their products are halal or not, we noticed a few common ingredients emerging that make a product not halal.

Here are the main ingredients you want to avoid when buying chips.

1- Animal Rennet (Enzymes)

Animal Rennet is an enzyme used in the food industry to prepare cheese by curdling milk. It is typically extracted from the stomach of a calf (source).

Animal Rennet itself is only halal if the animal, that the animal rennet was extracted from, was slaughtered in accordance to Islam.

However, in North America, companies do not usually slaughter the animal in a halal way. Therefore, consuming any part of the animal (including animal rennet), make the food not halal.

This also applies to Gelatin that is typically found in snacks like Haribo, rice krispies, and other candy.

2- Cheese Flavors (They Typically Include Whey)

Whey is a by-product of cheese. Cheese typically contains animal rennet. Therefore, most cheese flavored chips sold in North America is probably not halal.

Not to make it more complicated, but some brands like Sun Chips do include animal products in their ingredients list however, Sun Chips sold in North America are not make from pork enzymes (Porcine). Learn more about which Sun Chip flavors are considered halal.

Looking for more snacks? Check out our complete list of halal gummies to add to your grocery list!

Tips To Choosing Halal Chips

1. If it’s Vegan or Vegetarian, You’re Most Likely Safe

As muslims, our main concern is not to eat chips that contain animal products because most companies do not halal slaughter their animals.

With that said, if you’re looking at a specific chips that happens to be vegan or vegetarian then you’re most likely safe to eat it. This is because vegans do not consume animal products.

You should always double check the ingredients list, regardless of whether it is vegan or not.

2. Original Chips are Halal Most Of The Time

Original flavored chips typically do not have a long list of ingredients and do not require any animal based ingredients.

With that said, You should always double check the ingredients list

3. Don’t Shy Away From Contacting The Company

Companies such as Lay’s or Doritos are always happy to answer any question you have about their products. From what we’ve found, they’re typically quick to respond as well.

That’s definitely a sure way to get a confirmation on whether their chips are halal or not.

Tip: We noticed that companies always want to be safe and respond back to you saying that their product is not halal certified. This is just to protect themselves to avoid them getting sued. Try and be specific in your Email and go through the ingredient list of the chips.

Best 11 Halal Chips Brands Reviewed

1- Doritos

While not all Doritos Chips are halal, after extensive research, the following flavors are found to be halal: Doritos Sweet and Chili, Doritos BBQ.

Personally, I am a big fan of the Sweet and Chili and was one of my favorites growing up. I remember having it with a cheese sandwich during lunch time at school. The taste is more salty than it is sweet in my opinion, but great.

As for their BBQ Flavor, itès pretty standard and what you’d expect. What makes it unique is the texture of the chip itself which I can see it swaying people from loving it or finding it just okay.

Ingredients in both halal Dorito options:

  • Corn
  • Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, And/or Sunflower Oil)
  • Maltodextrin (Made From Corn)
  • Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes)
  • Whey
  • Buttermilk
  • Romano Cheese (learn more about halal cheeses)
  • Onion Powder, Corn Flour, Natural, And Artificial Flavor
  • Dextrose
  • Artificial Color (Yellow 6, Yellow 5, And Red 40)
  • Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Skim Milk, Red And Green Bell Pepper Powder, Disodium Inosinate, And Disodium Guanylate.

Check out my full review on why only those 2 flavors of Doritos chips are considered halal.

2- Enjoy Life

Didn’t see this one coming, did you?

While Enjoy Life may not be the most common brand out there, but as a Muslim and halal foodie, I know where to look.

A perfect choice for the vegan Muslim community, their chips are all made from Lentils. All 6 of their flavors do not contains animal products and are vegan which happens to also make it halal.

Their (Halal) flavors are:

  • Barbecue
  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Dairy free cheddar
  • Dill & Sour Cream
  • Garlic & Parmesan
  • Sea Salt

If I had to recommend 2 from the list above, I would certainly go for the Garlic & Parmesan and Dairy free cheddar.

3- Food Should Taste Good Chips

While they are considered to be a middle ground between tortilla chips and regular chips, the taste is great and adds another halal option for Muslims living in North America.

All their flavors are made from non-animal ingredients including oils, corn, sweet potato, and black beans.

Here are their top flavors:

  • Food Should Taste Good Chips Multigrain
  • Food Should Taste Good Chips Blue Corn
  • Food Should Taste Good Chips Sweet Potato
  • Food Should Taste Good Chips Black Bean

My personal favorite would be the Sweet potato as you can really eat it plain or have it with any dippings.

4- Fritos

Their Original flavor and the Honey BBQ are the only halal options.

Their original flavor is truly unique because it’s not plain, it has a unique savory flavor and the texture of the chip itself is a perfect mix of crunchy and flavorful.

Personally, I find myself eating the original flavor on its own or with a cheese sandwich as I find that it enhances the flavor of the bread and cheese.

Ingredient list: Corn, Corn Oil, Honey BBQ Seasoning (Salt, Maltodextrin [Made from Corn], Sugar, Brown Sugar, Onion Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Dextrose, Honey Solids, Spices, Tomato Powder, Molasses Solids, Yeast Extract, Artificial Color [Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1], Natural and Artificial Flavors, Garlic Powder, Corn Starch, Citric Acid, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate) (source).

5- Garden of Eatin’ Corn Tortilla Chips

A brand not very common within the Muslim community, but worth adding to everyone’s cabinet. Their chips are more of a tortilla chip but can still be eaten without dipping it any dip.

What makes them unique is their ingredient list, as the name suggests, their made from blue corn. A very interesting flavor.

Here’s the full (and very simple) ingredient list: Organic Blue Corn, Expeeller pressed canola oil, seaflower oil, sea salt.

6- Lay’s

Probably one of the most popular chips brands, you can’t ever go wrong with Lay’s. While they have a lot of different flavors, here are the halal ones that you may want to add to your snack list:

  • Kettle Cooked Potato Chips – Original
  • Baked Potato Chips – Original
  • Baked Potato Chips – BBQ
  • Baked Potato Chips – Ketchup
  • Baked Potato Chips

7- Pringles

Pringles are everywhere, and for good reason. While Muslims who stick to a halal diet can’t enjoy all flavors if living in North America, there are options that we can eat.

Halal Pringle flavors: Original, Salt & Vinegar, Honey Mustard, BBQ

8- Ruffles

While Ruffles is always in the news for trying new flavors, with the most recent partnership being their limited KFC chicken flavored chips, Ruffles is one of the most popular brands in North America.

With that being said, which flavors are halal for Muslims to eat?

  • Original
  • All Dressed
  • Tapatío Limó

My personal favorite Ruffles chips the Original as you really can’t go wrong with it and it can be used for dips.

9- Takis

I personally reached out to Takis to find out whether their Fuego flavor is halal or not and they did confirm that they do not have any animal products in their popular flavors, check out my full review of Takis chips.

From their most popular flavors (Takis Nitro and Takis Fuego) i would personally go with the Takis Fuego. The flavor and texture in unique.

Their ingredient list includes: Corn flour, vegetable oil, water, Seasoning [corn maltodextrin, sugar, citric acid, potassium chloride, rice flour, salt, monosodium glutamate, natural and artificial flavours (corn maltodextrin, yeast extract, monosodium glutamate, disodium inosinate and guanylate, potato starch, gum arabic), hydrolyzed soybean protein, dehydrated oinion, spice extractives (including red chili pepper), sodium bicarbonate, colours, disodium inosinate and guanylate, sodium acetate, soybean oil, acetic acid, bha and silicon dioxide. contains barley gluten].

10- Sunchips

Sunchips are everywhere in the US and Canada. Their known halal flavors are the original and Chili Lime.

Personally, I would go for the original as it really allows you to experience the texture of the chip and enhances the original flavor.

Their ingredient list includes: Whole Corn, Sunflower and/or Canola Oil, Whole Wheat, Brown Rice Flour, Whole Oat Flour, Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavor, and Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Garlic Powder, Spices (Including Chili Pepper), Onion Powder, Natural Flavors, Tomato Powder, Paprika, Yeast Extract, Citric Acid, Vinegar, and Lime Juice.

check out my full review on whether Sunchips are halal and which flavors are halal or not.

11 – Popchips

From my investigation so far, I found that the following flavors are halal:

  • Sea salt,
  • bbq,
  • tangy bbq

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Lay’s Chips are Halal?

The following Lay’s Chips are halal:

  • Lay’s Original
  • Lay’s Ketchup
  • Lay’s BBQ
  • Lay’s Salt & Vinegar

Is Doritos Chips Halal?

Not all Doritos Chips are Halal: After contacting Doritos, they confirmed that the following chips are halal

  • Doritos BBQ
  • Doritos Sweet Chili

Check out our full correspondence with Doritos when we asked them whether Doritos Hot Cheetos is halal or not.


I am a Muslim that has been living in North America for more than a decade. I am keen on knowing which foods, lifestyle choices, and financial decisions that are halal or not. I enjoy sharing this information with my readers and do the research myself so that readers don't have to.

Recent Posts